Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Have an account?

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Managing relationships

Nightmare838
New Contributor

BPD and trauma on carers

Hello SANE community,

I'm new to the forums and have used the hotline for a few years now. My background is trauma and BPD. I apologise if I'm posting in the wrong section, as I mentioned before, I'm new to this.

I'm writing to ask if there are others out there who have gone through BPD and despite having more skills with DBT, etc. still struggle to be kind and effective to those around them? My husband has developed trauma due to my volatility during crisis mode, and now has his own breakdowns when I get upset with him. He had to have an emergency appointment with his counsellor because of strong suicidal thoughts, and was recommended to go away for about a week to have a break from everything and attend to his needs. So he's gone with a friend of ours.

I'm thankful to God that I'm not in distress mode. I have enough logic brain working to understand the reasons why and that it's not abandonment. However, I notice I feel like I'm a robot or something... it's like I'm not reacting OR responding at all. I don't know if it's denial or if it's the fact that I'm just keeping the sadness at arms' length as much as possible.

I guess my post is to pose the question: those who have been in a similar situation, what did you do? What did you find helpful? What skills did you work on that helped? What did you work on that helped strengthened and healed the relationship??

Looking forward to hearing from you guys.

3 REPLIES 3

Re: BPD and trauma on carers

Thanks for sharing @Nightmare838 

I just wanting to make a quick post to welcome you to the community.