Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

Paulisnotmyname
Casual Contributor

Anxiety relapse and intrusive thoughts

Hi I just need to get things down. I have a history of anxiety (maybe OCD) and have been deteriorating again over the past 2 months or so, possibly triggered by some work stress. I am seeing my GP in a couple of days.

I have been in a loving relationship for 14 years and have 2 children. Things have been great in all areas of our relationship, especially over the past couple of years. Recently I have been experiencing distressing intrusive thoughts about my partner's previous intimate relationships (which I have limited knowledge of and are pretty irrelevant given the length of our relationship). Basically I am imagining fictional scenarios of my partner with other men and playing them over in my head, over and over again. It feels like torture.

Also I have become incredibly insecure about my ability to please my partner sexually, even though she is very reassuring and we have always had a wonderful, active sex life.

I am at a point where I cant eat or sleep properly and often break down in tears. It is frustrating my partner and I am terrified that she will leave me, though she reassures me that this will not happen.

Rationally, I can see that my fears are unfounded - why would she be with me this long if I was not a good partner?

I can't seem to make the thoughts go away and it is affecting things vey badly. I want to be back to my old self so desperately, but I can't see how this can happen. Maybe someone has some pearls of wisdom. We are in our mid-40s which makes this even more stupid. Thanks for reading. Peace.

7 REPLIES 7

Re: Anxiety relapse and intrusive thoughts